emt advisory committee of the year DSC_3454.jpg

CONTACT:  DONNA PALMER, 646-1347 OR dshanno1@tctc.edu

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                           8/15/2019

                                                                                                (By Lisa Garrett)

PENDLETON --- Tri-County Technical College’s Emergency Medical Technology (EMT) Advisory Committee was recognized for its achievements this year at the College’s fall convocation.

Committee members and Program Director Ryan Nix accepted the Advisory Committee of the Year award for 2019.

New at the College this fall, the EMT - Paramedic program offers an associate degree and two certificate options for future EMTs and paramedics.  For the past several years, the advisory committee, comprised of EMS providers, spent countless hours assisting College officials in developing the program which is housed at the Easley Campus.

“The advisory committee has been instrumental in advancing the program through its involvement in and support of a cooperative work experience for all students in the program.  I have been so impressed with their passion and excitement for this program and their profession,” said Donna Palmer, health professions department head at Tri-County.

“They are committed to their profession, the success of this program and a quality education for competent and qualified EMTs and paramedics.  Their goal is to ensure that the workforce shortages that our community and state are facing are filled and that this program can provide highly qualified health professionals to meet the needs of their patients and our community in emergency and disaster preparedness,” said Palmer. 

“They are a valuable resource and vital for the program’s success,” she added.

She said that the advisory committee has been supportive in the College’s efforts to obtain accreditation and approvals from the many regulatory agencies, including DHEC, CAAHEP, COAEMSP and the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technology.

When the advisory committee was created in 2016, the team was charged with developing a curriculum by attending a workshop (DACUM) where they worked to incorporate all of the many competencies and work-related experiences to help support the curriculum, said Palmer.

The EMT/Paramedic program development was funded by an Appalachian Regional Commission grant.  “The advisory committee recommended a consultant, providing me with equipment recommendations and connecting me to the appropriate people to ensure that we were getting the best prices and equipment to meet DHEC, CAAHEP and CoAEMSP standards. The equipment and supplies were secured and purchased, which provided us the opportunity to have our DHEC inspection. Our committee also toured our Easley Campus and gave insights and recommendations for the construction and remodeling of classroom and lab space.

The committee also was directly involved with hiring the program director, she said.

The advisory committee also had input for the “Letter of Review” approval process and will be continually reviewing the course syllabi and student learning outcomes for input into the curriculum. This is mandated by CoAEMSP Standard II. A.

“The contributions of the EMT advisory committee helped to provide opportunities for current EMS providers to continue their education to become paramedics. This will enhance our students’ lives for higher salaries, better job opportunities and ultimately benefit our healthcare system for our community. The students will have many opportunities to continue to their education through diplomas, certificates and ultimately an associate degree.  Articulation agreements with other local universities also are available for advanced degrees in emergency management and disaster preparedness,” said Shannon.